Groups of Objects

Coursework

Project 2

Exercise 1



For this task I chose a book, a can of drink, a bottle of foundation, a bowl with a spoon in it, an orange, and a scrunched up chocolate wrapper.

Approaching this task, I didn’t feel completely confident.

Still Life is not something that I am used to or something that I felt would be a strong point in my coursework. Saying this, I gave it my best shot.

I created this piece using a charcoal stick, and I was pleased with the effect that it had. After drawing the initial lines of the items I felt unsure as to whether I had gone for the correct drawing utensil, and found myself questioning the entire piece. I thought the sketch looked too ‘loud’ and that it would suit a subtler look, something gentler. As an experiment to salvage what I thought could be one for the bin, I began to smudge what I had drawn. I slowly rubbed my finger along the lines of the items, and this seemed to make the sketch more appealing to me. The lines were softer, the sketch was far kinder on the eye, and I much preferred the appearance. As I continued to sketch and edit, I became far more confident in myself and the piece that I was creating.

One thing that I have learnt is that just because an objective says ‘loosely describe’ does not mean that the task is a simple one. I approached this thinking that it would take me not very long at all. It took a far longer amount of time than I anticipated and I’m pleased that I stopped where I did. I re-started this task three or four times before I felt relatively happy with the outcome, but each time I saw some improvement.

To begin with, I think I chose objects that were too adventurous for me, and I struggled to form them on the page. I moved the items around a lot and something wasn’t quite working, and this is when I decided to change the items altogether. After attempting a few test sketches on the new items and moving them around a lot, I settled on this lay out as I felt it looked the best. At first I had placed the book at the very back, however, when I shifted things around, I thought “why not see if it works elsewhere?” and it really did. The book was tricky as the front cover is bent and the top right hand corner curves upwards, giving my sketch the appearance that the lining is off, however, I can assure you it’s on purpose! Also, I didn’t realise until the end but I have placed the larger items either side of the smaller items, and I think this frames the sketch nicely.

I settled on this lay out and these items because I felt they were something that I could comfortably draw. In hindsight, I think I was neither right nor wrong with that statement. It was a tricky few hours trying to get this drawing to a point where I felt happy, and I think if I had continued trying to perfect it, I would have been awake for about a week.

For me and for now, this is the best that I can do and I have made a mental note that this is going to be a practicing point for me, and that I’ll strive to improve my Still Life drawing techniques.

Reflecting on this piece, I now know that my skills to focus on regarding Still Life are items that have lids or openings at the top or bottom of them. It was tricky to create the right shape or width opening for the can and the bowl, and something I really had to and will continue to work on.


3 thoughts on “Groups of Objects

  1. I like the softness you have created to this piece! The objects seem to have a bit of a warm glow to them! I like the fluidity of the wrapper too and the ellipses used for the bowl and can. I was the same though, you see a basic shape and think “ah that’s going to be easy!” Until you begin actually trying to translate it to the page! It does get easier as you go along though, I promise! Well done! X

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your feedback! I really appreciate it. I’ve definitely had to teach myself to accept that just because it may look straight forward, it’s not! I’m finding that sometimes the more basic and 3D the shape is, the less accurate I am able to make it appear! But I guess we are all here to learn aren’t we xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We really are. You’re going to create some amazing pieces, but also some horrendous ones, but that’s ok because it’s from them we learn how to correct it next time! Some of the stuff I have put on my course websites make my skin crawl haha, but I know seeing them will help people see just how far (I hope!) I have come. Keep up the good work and you will just keep surprising yourself! x

        Like

Leave a comment