Foreground, Middle-Ground and Background

Coursework

Project 3

Exercise 2


For this exercise, I used an image from a previous exercise.
I printed the photograph and sectioned it using a grid. Then, I sectioned an A3 page into equal squares. This was extremely helpful in re-sizing the piece from A4 to A3, as each area of the setting had its own section.

I began my mapping out the areas in the background, middle-ground and foreground. The subjects that are in the background should be out of focus and undefined, which is easy to portray. For this experiment I simply sketched in the areas of colour that I could see – the trees, the fence and the roofs.

The middle-ground should be in better focus, however, not as detailed as subjects in the foreground would be. I started to add differing areas of tone (for example, some shading upon a tree, shadow on the ground, and better defined branches. I could see the difference in the two layers already. It’s interesting that varied pressure and added detail makes such a difference.

For the subjects in the foreground I added a lot more detail. Adding more pressure and fine details to these parts showed great depth in the piece. The trees and areas on the ground that are better defined and clearer to look at seem as though they are right in front of you, and it really puts into contrast the areas furthest away. The blurred subjects in the distance add to that depth, and this really brings the drawing to life.

This was a very quick experimental drawing, so I’m keen to get into creating a more detailed version of it.


My first version of this piece is created using a range of coloured pencils.

As you can see below, I first mapped out the different areas.
Subtly, I shaded in the background colours to set a base for my drawing. I knew that I could return to these areas later and adapt them, however, for now, mapping in the colours was enough.

After, I began outlining the different trees I could see, both in the middle-ground and foreground. Instead of going straight into the detail of these areas, I felt it was most important to get a general idea of what my final outcome would look like, and then build upon it.

The Final Outcome – 1

I’m pleased with this piece, however, there are parts of it that are bugging me.

I think I’ve done a great job in portraying the depth in the scene.
The background is out of focus, however, you are able to see general colours and shapes there. Moving forward, the middle-ground is better defined and the form of trees and shadows become more prominent.
The trees and areas on the ground in the foreground are extremely defined, and you are able to see the texture of the trees and the range of colours upon them. My favourite aspect of this piece is the tree on the right-hand side. I really like the range of warm colours upon the tree; you’re able to see where the light hits the branches and other areas where the sunlight doesn’t quite reach.

I think this drawing has a very cartoonish appearance. I really like that about this piece, however, I’m wary that, whilst some areas are fairly realistic, other areas lack it.
The shadow in the foreground, and my depiction of the path are a little off.
This is something I would like to work on, as the portrayal of shadows and reflections is something that I have struggled with in the past.


The Final Outcome – 2

My second attempt at this piece was better.
I used a charcoal for this drawing. I worked in reverse with this piece, mapping out the foreground, then the middle-ground, and finally, the background. I’m far more satisfied with this piece. It was easier to create the depth that I could see in the image through the use of charcoal; the soft, moveable substance of the charcoal was really beneficial in my abilities to form the layers.

The trees in the foreground are far more defined than any other area, and the varied tonal range shows how close these trees are. I used the charcoal to draw the branches, shadows on the ground, and texture on the tree. I barely smudged the branches as I wanted the depth in this piece to be very pronounced.
The middle and background are less defined the further the subjects get from my view, and I think I’ve managed to depict this accurately. Using my fingers I smudged the subjects in the middle-ground subtly, so that their form was still clear, however, the details and textures upon them were unfocused. Any subjects in the foreground are extremely smudged. This accurately shows how unfocused things become the further away they are.

My favourite of these two is probably the second. I think the soft, powdery texture of the charcoal is better for portraying depth in a piece. It’s easily adaptable quality is great for showing the range these layers. Charcoal is a very diverse tool, so I was able to use it for the softer, less-defined areas and also the sharper ones.


Leave a comment