Larger Observational Study of an Individual Tree

Coursework

Project 1

Exercise 2


For this task I drew the same tree that I focused on in the previous exercise. It’s easily accessible and it’s a really lovely tree, so looking at it for long stretches of time isn’t too much of a chore!

I began by drawing the outline of the tree’s trunk and working up from there. First, I thought it would be useful to start on the trunk’s markings, and see where that lead me. I focused on the markings, lines and shadows along the surface of the bark, and the twists and knots in the trunk. From the trunk, I was able to work upwards into the foliage, using a similar strategy to exercise 1.

The use of scribbled lines and quick marks was really effective, and by layering the lines on top of each other I was able to achieve the appearance of varied thickness in the leaves.


I worked quickly to create this piece, which, for once, I really enjoyed. It was incredible to be able to scribble and scratch away at the page without even glancing at it, to then look down and see the progress I’d made. I almost think that looking away from the piece and drawing what I was looking at without paying much mind whilst I drew made it better.

After the disappointment I felt after exercise 1, it’s glorious to be able to say that after completing exercise 2, I am feeling really relieved and as though I’ve turned a small but very satisfying corner. I am now able to see how easy it is to create the form and substance of a tree using really simple strategies.

If I were to add anything to this sketch (or re-do it completely) I would focus further on the foliage/leaves. I don’t think I quite managed to depict it’s full thickness, and this is something I’d like to be able to achieve with practice. I’m thrilled that the tree doesn’t seem flat against the page and that I’ve been able to represent its 3-dimensional form fairly well, however, I do think that it would hugely add to the sketch if the foliage had that little bit more depth. As I’ve learnt from this exercise, simply overlapping the lines and markings is a surefire way to create bushy, luscious greenery instead of flat, weedy leaves.


Leave a comment