Overall Evaluation and Written Assessment of Parts One to Four

Coursework

After reviewing feedback from my tutor, and points I have made whilst reflecting over my work, these are some of the main points that I picked up on, and that I felt were important to keep in mind going into Assignment 5:

– Trying to draw upright, for example, against a wall, as this will support me in constructing my drawing and helping with observational perspective.

– Looking at spaces between objects/features as this will help greatly with composition.

– Try not to rely on outline. Use tone and move it out towards the edges of a subject.

– Practice drawing skills by making lots of quick sketches before moving onto main piece.

– Work on the background. If working with pencil or charcoal, work on layering to add in the features of the background. If working in paint, again, focus on layering and building up the colours and tones.

– Try not to worry about perfection, but, more about the progress and process.

I think focusing on these aspects will support me hugely when moving forward with this final part of Drawing 1.


Best Parts / Key Areas of Part One to Four

From there, I went on to look back through all the exercises of the course so far and to select mine and my tutor’s favourite pieces so far. I selected a range of images where I had used different medias and techniques, to best see where my strengths lie.

Still Life, Basic Shapes and Fundamentals:
Composition, Natural Objects and Still Life:
Trees, Landscape, Composition, Perspective, and Townscapes:
The Figure and The Head:

Looking through these drawings has really proven to me how far I have come over the past year.

I can see strong development in all areas. I’ve done a lot of work in pencil, pen charcoal and pastel over Drawing 1, and the skills I’ve developed over this time are clear, looking back through these examples of my work. Going forward to my final piece, I’m keen to incorporate a selection of medias and techniques, and taking the time to look over these, I am starting to get a clearer idea of which medias and techniques it is that I would like to use.

Leave a comment