Energy

Coursework

For this task we were asked to sketch our model in a ‘dynamic’ position.

I’m currently not able to use a live model, so I had to take to google search to find images of models moving – e.g. dancing, running, exercising. I worked in thick graphite pencil for this; it’s more dense than standard HB pencil, but not as thick and chalky as charcoal.

The sketch that I believe to be the most successful, and the one that i enjoy looking at the most, is sketch 4. The positioning in regards to the hands and feet is a little off, but the overall structure and appearance of movement within the sketch is clear I think.

I like the appearance of sketch 1, however, I think I went a little overboard. I used the clothing of the model to display the movement (the circular, spinning motion of the dancer is portrayed through the skirts). I think this particular piece would have been far more impactful if more time were spent creating it.

Sketch 2 is another that I’m feeling really chuffed with. The image was of a woman running and jumping between two rocks on a cliff. I think I have displayed her movements really well. The movement is clear through her entire body; the twist in her back and the angles/positioning of her arms and legs don’t look at all natural as they would if she were just standing, which makes it very clear she is in movement.

I’ll admit, I have slightly misjudged some of the bodily proportions, however, for a few 5-minute sketches and my first real attempt at depicting movement, I’m pleased!


Leave a comment