Angular Perspective

Coursework

Project 4

Exercise 2


For this exercise we were asked to create a line drawing of either a building/several buildings or an arrangement of books on a table seen corner-on. I wasn’t able to access any buildings at this view, however, I have many books, so I decided to take that approach to this task.

My first attempt was using the layout above.

After drawing the books, adding in my eye- line (horizontal blue) and then drawing in the receding lines (red), I realised that the piece should probably be more angular. My perspective wasn’t the best it could be, as only one of the books was viewed ‘corner-on’.

I decided to attempt it again, using the same books, but angling them differently.

I shifted the books around so, from my viewpoint, a corner of each book was pointed towards me, or at least in my general direction. This helped me greatly in displaying a range of receding lines from the different angles.

Exercises such as this frustrate me, because I can never seem to get the proportion or perspective right.
For objects that are very angular I think this shows that a ruler is an important tool to have to recreate these them accurately. At least until I have gained more experience and skill in freehand perspective drawing. I also think it may help a great deal to work out and draw the perspective lines prior to the drawing, instead of blindly drawing the angles and lines that you see. It always seems that I see something a certain way, but when it comes to putting pencil to paper, it seems near impossible to recreate what I see.

I wasn’t sure whether I should include the receding lines for the edges of the book that are bent up or not entirely straight. I’ve left those lines out, just in case.

All of the books, regardless of their angle, should have vanishing points on the eye-line, which, as you can see, I’ve not managed to achieve here. I think it’s clear to say that some work is needed here!


Leave a comment